Ligeti: Les Siècles


Ligeti Six Bagatelles; Kammerkonzert; Dix pièces pour quintette à vent

Les Siècles/François-Xavier Roth
Actes Sud ASM26

Reviewed March 2017

Ligeti’s brilliance, wit and quirky originality are at their most obvious in the wind quintet pieces, while the Chamber Concerto is a major work with a frenetic finale. Les Siècles play it all with exhilarating virtuosity, and utterly seductive wind timbres.

Audio clip: Corrente (Fließend) from Kammerkonzert